Children of the Confederacy

The Children of the Confederacy is an auxiliary organization of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. Membership in the CofC is open to boys and girls from birth to age 18 who are lineal or collateral descendants of Confederate soldiers, sailors, or statesmen.

Because we desire to perpetuate, in love and honor, the heroic deeds of those who enlisted in the Confederate Services and upheld its flag through four years of war, we, the children of the South, have united in an Organization called the "Children of the Confederacy," in which our strength, enthusiasm, and love of justice can exert its influence. We, therefore, pledge ourselves to preserve pure ideas; to honor the memory of our beloved Veterans; to study and teach the truths of history (one of the most important of which is that the War Between the States was not a rebellion); and always to act in a manner that will reflect honor upon our noble and patriotic ancestors.

CofC Officers

President – Jackson Tucker
Vice President – Carolina Tucker
2nd Vice President – Georgia Grey Chumley
3rd Vice President – Caitlyn Tucker
Recording Secretary – Elizabeth Lanford
Historian – TBA
Chaplain – Charlotte Tucker
Custodian – Charlotte Chumley
Newsletter Editor – John Andrew Lanford

CofC Chapters in South Carolina

Lee Reed Miller #972
Auxiliary to Emmala Reed Miller UDC

Bonnie Blue Flag #789
Auxiliary to Robert E. Lee UDC #146
Director – Rose Moody

Rev. Dr. John Johnson #616
Auxiliary to Charleston UDC

Caroline S. Coleman #537
Auxiliary to Oliver Thompson UDC #1850
Director Pam Evans

Cherokee Cadets #848
Auxiliary to Moses Wood UDC #469

Joseph Evan Davis #907
Auxiliary to Winnie Davis UDC #442

Laurens Briars #931
Auxiliary to Joseph Brevard Kershaw UDC #205

Jeanie Benson #884
Auxiliary to Berry Benson UDC #2584

Iredell Jones #85
Auxiliary to Ann White #123

CofC Tentative Calendar


Copyright 2014 South Carolina Division United Daughters of the Confederacy